Bloated Turnips

15 Jan

This desire to cook wacky veggies all started one day when I was meandering through the produce section in my local ShopRite and saw Produce Pete putting  away some bloated looking turnips. Our eyes met. Pete looked straight into my eyes and said “Kohlrabi.” I answered holding his gaze, I’ll take three.

After a few days of opening and closing the refrigerator, expelling audible dramatic  sighs and thinking “what the hell and I going to do with these ugly faux turnips”!  I wielded my knife –  chopped off the stems and peeled! Raw – the Kohlrabi was rigid but tasty (for you raw foodies I could see Kohlrabi as a stable “cracker”  for you).  If you could stop for a second and imagine watercress knocking up broccoli stems under a cabbage moon –  that would  about describe the taste of Kohlrabi.

So through this journey from store to stove what did I learn about my new friend Kohlrabi:

Well, he is of German decent but loves to be featured in Asian dishes, see my Asian Kohlrabi stir-fry below.

He takes 60  days to grow but once you have him home he should be stored in the fridge and cooked within 3 weeks.

He is light on the calories (40 per serving) but loaded with vitamin C and potassium.

Kohlrabi Stir-Fry Asian Style


You Need:

  • Sesame Oil
  • 1-3 heaping teaspoons of minced garlic (depends how garlicky you like your veg)
  • 2 bulbs of kohlrabi – sliced into french-fry like pieces
  • 1 green bell pepper -chopped
  • 1 yellow onion -chopped
  • 1 cup of shiitake mushrooms -cleaned and cut into pieces
  • 2 tablespoons of low sodium soy sauce
  • 3 tablespoons of pickled ginger – chopped
  • 2 servings of protein of choice (I used imitation crab meat cause I had it in the house – shrimp, chicken or tofu will work too).
  • 2 servings of rice cooked (I prefer brown rice)
  • Toasted sesame seeds for garnish

Directions:

  • Place oil in a large fry pan. Enough so the veggies don’t stick, not so much that you need to take an additional cholesterol pill.
  • Add garlic to oil.
  • Add Kohlrabi first cooking for 5 minutes, then add the remaining veggies.
  • When veggies are tender mix in  soy and pickled ginger.
  • Add protein of choice (if using chicken or raw shrimps you will need to pre-cook these in a separate pan.
  • Once protein is warmed through top rice with stir-fry mix and sprinkle sesame seeds on top.
  • Enjoy your veggie creation!

Kohlrabi was a fun. Who knows maybe next week I’ll stuff him and server him up like a pepper?   Until then enjoy the veggie journey and let me know if you have any veg-suggestions for future posts!

2 Responses to “Bloated Turnips”

  1. Val January 16, 2011 at 7:44 pm #

    I want to try this!! Let me know what to do with parsnips as well. I have no idea…
    Awesome blog G!!!

  2. ginascala January 18, 2011 at 1:39 pm #

    Thanks Val! Stay tuned I will try to sneak in a parsnip post this week – they are good veggies for the stew and soup time of year!!

Leave a Reply

